Never give up.

IMG_3292


Three words, never give up.

For several weeks I found myself praying the same prayer, “God, how do I love people like you do?” Last week I received my answer.

During worship I was thankful for so many things but one stood out so strongly.  I was so grateful that despite everything i’ve done, not done, said, not said, God never gave up on me.  Seriously, if you stop to think about everything you’ve been through and said, I hope you are able to see the same faithfulness in your life.  If you’re not able to see it yet, you will.

It was in that moment of complete awe that I realized, that is how I am to love others.

At times, it can seem as if I give up on people. By nature I am an all in, all out person. Black and white, all the way. I think I get it from my dad. Sometimes that is a good thing and sometimes it isn’t.  Either way, what i’m learning is, being out doesn’t mean giving up. You can have healthy distance, healthy boundaries and still not give up on people.

After all Romans 2:4 says it is God’s kindness that leads us to repentance. I pray to live with that type of kindness. Not so that people can repent to me, but so people live right with their Father.  

I never want my actions to become a stumbling block for others.

The solution i’m working through with this answer right now is prayer. What a strong, first defense to have.  Prayer changes everything.  If I am able to submit others before the Lord, then surely I will never give up on them, because he never gives up on us.

My current food for thought this week. Enjoy.

-MH

Leave a Reply

